Hot Child, Summer in the…Suburbs

Hi! It’s been a minute since I last wrote! Hope you’re all doing fabulously! I’ve been super busy with preggo stuff…like sleeping and eating, so I really couldn’t be bothered…

Really it’s been a super quiet summer here, which is so nice. Pregnancy is treating me well, and as of right now I’m just eating, growing, sleeping, and trying to stay as active as possible. I have some new fun symptoms like a super itchy/hairy belly (akin to a Yeti), swelling feet (like little foot shaped balloons), and intermittent narcolepsy (like on Monday when I got dressed to work out, then woke up 2 and a half hours later on the couch). Otherwise, things are going well! Baby has been dancing up a storm and seems to enjoy mommy and daddy’s off key, obnoxious singing, giant cats sleeping and vibrating him or her, and soccer practice with mommy’s bladder!

Since coming home from California, my diet has really been different. I wrote about loosening up while on vacation, and I’ve really been able to keep up with it! Baby seems to want lots of sandwiches, ice cream, and sweet drinks (HELLO Starbucks Very Berry Hibiscus Refreshers). My workouts have been holding steady, but I’ve had to start modifying for my growing belly. For example: my belly nearly reaches the floor during pushups, so I need to use a bench or the wall. I’ve had to stop attending rowing classes because my knees hit my belly, which compress my lungs, which is really not good for anyone. Plus it’s been approximately a trillion degrees with a billion percent humidity every day, so walking outside is really not an option. There are plenty of other options!

Here’s a full body workout that I wrote yesterday! You’ll need a TRX or suspension system, a set of dumbbells and some sort of step (I used an actual stair, but you could use a chair, a bench, whatever). Make sure to rest as much as you need! My rest intervals used to be 30-60 seconds, but now I need a solid 60-90 seconds at minimum to recover after each set. Take your time and remember that form is REALLY important when you’re pregnant. Maintaining core strength and balance should are my current #1 priority while exercising and proper form ensures that!

IMG_1085

And just in case you’re wondering how I’m looking these days (I know you are):

IMG_9602

Here I am in all my fuzzy belly glory! Charlie seems to approve from above in his new cat perch. What a creep. That’s pretty much it for me for now! I hope you all have a fantastic week!

xoR

2 thoughts on “Hot Child, Summer in the…Suburbs

Leave a comment